Home | Site Map  
About Dolphins

About Dolphins

What Species of Dolphins are Endangered?

The Chinese River Dolphin, the Indus River Dolphin, and the Orca Whale are all listed as endangered.

All species of dolphin are protected under CITES and the Marine Mammal Protection Act.

CITES or the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, is an international treaty with 172 member countries. Dolphins listed in Appendix I cannot be traded commercially, this includes the Snubfin Dolphin, Amazon River Dolphin, indo-Pacific Humpbacked Dolphin and the Atlantic Humpbacked Dolphin. Dolphins listed in Appendix II can be traded commercially only if it does not harm their survival. All dolphins not listed in Appendix I are listed in Appendix II

The Marine Mammal Protection Act is a US law that prohibits, with certain exceptions, the taking of marine mammals in US waters and by US citizens on the high seas, and the importation of marine mammals and marine mammal products into the US.

Dolphin Conservation

Gifts from Dolphin Store

See more from the Dolphin Store

Copyright © 2011-2020 DR Management
All rights reserved
Marine Animals | About Whales | Dolphin Stock Photos